Re. Liabiltiiy Waiver

Well…Here goes! This is my first post on this site. My topic does not fit neatly into either “News and Announcements” or “Site Feedback”, but what the hey! Here goes!

At Rodeo City Repair Cafe in Ellensburg, WA, we are discussing whether to include a liability waiver on the reverse side of our repair project sign-up form. We have a copy of the stock waiver supplied by RC but it seems wordy and perhaps intimidating for our clients. What’s the accepted “best practice” with regard to liability waivers? We’d like to hear what other RC outfits are doing about this issue. Do you use a liability waiver? Are you using the stock RC waiver or do you have your own version?

@pcantieni You know I love this topic …

[Caveat: I’m not a lawyer. Nothing I say should be considered legal advice.]

I think everyone should be using a waiver. Laws vary by state but regardless, the act of reading and signing a waiver helps to set expectations. In my experience, courts only get involved when people have mismatched expectations. But also, torts are real. Torts are whenever someone is harmed or suffers a loss. [Tortes, on the other hand, with an ‘e’, are tasty.] As an RC organizer, you have a duty to limit liability exposure for yourself, your volunteers, and your host.

Repair Café house rules Jan 2020
This is the latest form that I used in our 2020 events. It is based on a version provided by the Repair Café International Foundation (RCI) in Amsterdam. RCI has never claimed to have had there document reviewed by lawyers. My version is slightly Americanized from there’s and uses more of our nomenclature, such as “coach” which is not a term used by RCI.

This document was originall in MS-Word. I converted it to Google Docs for sharing. It is intended to be printed double-sided so you get two forms for each piece of 8.5x11.

houserules-13March2020